Dallas Affaires: Cakes to grow up, celebrate with

Dallas Affaires Cake Company

Wedding cakes are a specialty of Dallas Affaires; they look great, but they taste even better. (Photo by John Cain Photography)

When the smell of frosting fills a room, you know it’s fresh. And when that creamy, sweet frosting protects a delicate moist cake, you know you don’t want to share your piece.

This is how I felt as a toddler trying out the baked goods of Dallas Affaires Cake Company. Of course, at the time this Lakewood business was functioning out of one of the owner’s homes. Today, it stands on Abrams Road still serving and delivering my favorite cakes in this city.

So when it came to picking a bakery for my recent wedding, there was really no discussion on where we would go. But, my then-fiance, my parents and I went for a tasting anyway.

When I was a child, I remember going to tastings and having owner Sibby Barrett serve me entire pieces of cakes (and my mom claims I ate each one all by myself as a small – surely gluttonous – child).

Our consultation for the cakes consisted of matching up different flavors of frosting with the standard cake flavors.

Our consultation for the cakes consisted of matching up different flavors of frosting with the standard cake flavors.

For this tasting, wedding cake consultant  Margaret Gragg gave each of us two slices of cake, one chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and one white cake with vanilla frosting. Cups of various frosting flavors took over the center of the table. The best,  creative ones were the champagne frosting for a simple, sophisticated flavor, and the orange-cream, which lent a sweet creamsicle-like taste – the latter was a final option in our auditions. But I couldn’t resist the birthday cake of my childhood – that sweet, with a subtle hint of saltiness – the Italian cream frosting.

I have never in my life had better tasting frosting than that center filling that graces the layers of this cake. I’m not the kind of person who prefers to swipe the frosting off of a cupcake and eat the sweet topping by itself, but I could easily do it with this Italian cream frosting.

Despite all of my adoration for this perfect frosting, at the wedding, I actually ended up eating more of the groom’s cake, which was a standard chocolate cake – it boasts a richer, darker flavor – with chocolate frosting on the outside and a chocolate-amaretto frosting on the inside. Yes, chocolate-amaretto: now you can understand why I ate so much of it. It’s an almond-sweetness, but balanced out with the decadence around it in the cake.

And, of course, the team at Dallas Affaires makes pretty good looking cakes.

The bride's Italian cream cake (left) and the groom's chocolate-amaretto cake were an attraction for their smell and looks that night. (Photo by John Cain Photography)

The bride’s Italian cream cake (left) and the groom’s chocolate-amaretto cake were an attraction for their smell and looks that night. (Photo by John Cain Photography)

I was lucky enough to have these cakes at every birthday – Italian cream for me and my mom, and chocolate with chocolate-covered strawberries for my brother and dad – and it was even more exciting to have that cake for my wedding. Now, I need an excuse other than a life step to get my fork in a slice of that dessert.

The groom's cake was a rich chocolate-amaretto. (Photo by John Cain Photography_

The groom’s cake was a rich chocolate-amaretto. (Photo by John Cain Photography)

Dallas Affaires Cake Company
Location: 2307 Abrams Road in Dallas, 75214
Contact: 214-826-9409, info@dallasaffairescakeco.com
Hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday – Friday, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday
Service: If you’re just going in to grab a cake ball, they’re friendly enough to get you in and out with a sweet treat. If you’re meeting for a wedding cake tasting – you’ll have fun, and they’ll make sure of it.
Ambiance: It’s a bakery – it’s cool, well lit and smells like frosting.
Payment information: All major credit cards accepted

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Dallas Affaires: Cakes to grow up, celebrate with

  1. Our wedding cakes were from Dallas Affaires too 🙂 My cake was so incredibly delicious– white cake with champagne and lemon filling with fresh strawberries. His was a chocolate with Kahlua. Both were so delicious and looked amazing!

Leave a Reply

